Urbenville Adventure

Wow, Urbenville, what an adventure! An approach so tough I nearly threw up. Climbs so hard I’m still hurting. Plants so vicious, one grass-spike tore my contact lens and possibly cornea. Maybe that doesn’t sound fun, but it totally was.

It rocks.

Rusi and me chillin.

The mysteriously misty Mount Lindsay cliff-cake, early morning.

We were definitely somewhere at this point. What’s in my pocket, huh? Never leave home without them. This was not long before the plant stabbed me in the eye. I did not cry. I carry spare contact lenses, just in case.

so high

Primarily a TopRope Queen, I got my lead on a little.

The rock is interesting. Super hard but also brittle. Some felt loose/hollow but nothing broke. I found some good heel hooks.

See you, cows.

Hi rain, thanks for holding out.

Wait, you want actually useful info? We climbed at Spot X. It took about 45 minutes to walk in, including the nausea pause.

If you’re keen, a good plan would be camping in town and spending a few days at the crag/s.

Climbing at Urbenville was a big fun day, travelling from the Gold Coast.

A farmer was so nice he made us feel welcome, okayed our parking spot, and mowed a track while we were up at the crag.

Thank you Urbenville and friends for this fabulous day climbing beautiful rock in a wild place.

4 comments

Leave a comment