Mothers Day

To all the mothers, happy Mothers Day.

To all the women who wish they were mothers, I hope you get your kid/s.

To my mother, thank you for everything you gave me and for the chance to find the things you couldn’t give me. I believe you’re at peace now. 

To the people with not-so-great mums, I hope you make peace with it. 

To the women who have mothered and inspired me, thank you.

To my friends who I bitch to about motherhood, thanks for listening and for sharing your problems. 

To my friends who choose not to have kids I respect your decision and envy you the peace and quiet I imagine you have.

To my kids, thanks for being awesome when you are. Thanks for the smiles, the hugs, the inspiration, your unique views and insights, your creativity and laughter. 

To my baby-daddy, thanks for making motherhood possible and better, in all the ways. I wouldn’t want to do this without you. Thanks for taking Ro out for lunch!

Present from my kids…

A string factory! And a little doll… maybe I can keep her close to my heart. And I think Ro drew chaos on a cup for me. Or maybe an abstract impression of motherhood. Same thing.

One thought on “Mothers Day

  1. Thanks for this very thoughtful Mothers Day post. Mothers Day can be quite challenging for some people for many reasons. Thanks in particular for these words: “To my mother, thank you for everything you gave me and for the chance to find the things you couldn’t give me. I believe you’re at peace now. To the people with not-so-great mums, I hope you make peace with it.” Sometimes kids have to be mums to their own mums at a very early age and miss out on the nurturing they need. Also, I think you’re awesome doing the job you do as a mum. 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

