10 Cloverfield Lane

There might be spoilers in here, depending on what you call a spoiler.

I saw 10 Cloverfield Lane last night on the recommendation of a friend who said it was being called one of the best science fiction movies to come out in recent years.
  
It was great, but I wouldn’t say it was science fiction. What I did find interesting about the movie is that it sits comfortably across a few genres, including thriller and teen horror, and a smidgen of science fiction. It reminded me of movies like Cabin in the Woods, Saw, Ruins and Wolf Creek.

This fluidity across genres was one of the strengths of the film. It kept me guessing, like Michelle, the main character, what was real in the film’s world and what was not.

It had me on the edge of my seat in a way I didn’t like at first. In the early scenes I thought I might soon be walking out of the cinema, and I had to check the synopsis on IMDb for an idea of what this movie was actually about. What I read reassured me and I settled in and enjoyed the movie, feeling pretty sure it wouldn’t take a direction I wouldn’t like.

I guess it’s about genre markers…I know what to expect from certain genres, and usually I feel safe watching science fiction films. And this didn’t feel like a science fiction film, apart from a few small potent doses.

I like horror and some level of gore, but I don’t like torturey movies. And, yay! there wasn’t any significant torture that I recall.

I liked the way I didn’t know what to believe, and how what I believed kept changing. I loved the characters, especially Michelle, the kick-arse main character.
So, yeah, it’s a really good and interesting film. I barely remember the original Cloverfield, but have a vague sense that I didn’t like it, but I loved Monsters which I saw around the same time.

Although it really isn’t very science fiction, I highly recommend 10 Cloverfield Lane.

Leave a Reply

