Farewell 2015 and Happy New Year!

IMG_4093
“I will be your Happy New Year Alpaca.”

Last year brought  many wonderful things to me, the best of which was some free time because this little fellow went to school.

IMG_3707
Contrary to expectations, he loved school and it loved him.

 

I used that time to pursue local creative opportunities to extend and enrich the local writing community through Writers Activation.

12322846_525968157562219_6747648218490442522_o
Candice Lemon Scott reads at Summer Nights, our final event for 2015

There is heaps happening on the Gold Coast for writers and creatives at the moment. It’s an exciting place to be!

IMG_3461
Summer Nights street piece. It’s fun chalking a curb hob!

If you’d like to see the full text of this temporary street piece (twice written and twice washed away by the high-pressure hoser) head to YouTube.

I was thrilled to receive a Ditmar Award for Best New Talent in Australian Speculative Fiction. I also finished another novel… this one is called Spliced and I’d love to see it published one day. It’s in the editing phase.

It was great to have time to ramp up my fitness and tackle four obstacle course races (some in fancy dress) and enjoy some lovely bush walks and explore local parks.

 

I was delighted to to sell this article on obstacle course racing to More Gold Coast.

It was great to see my school friends at my 20 year reunion, omg!

 

Thanks and love to my family…

Thanks to my friends for their love, support, and the laughs and stories we’ve shared.

In 2016 I’m looking forward to doing Spartan, Tough Mudder and taking Jasmine along for Raw, her first obstacle course.

I’m also looking forward to creating some digital poetry art workshops in partnership with the Gold Coast media lab and delivering Contact, which is just 12 weeks away.

All the best for 2016!

Be kind to your alpaca.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Farewell 2015 and Happy New Year!

  1. I’m a little late, but Happy New Year! I just wanted to stop by and say what a wonderful collection of photos this is. Selfies aren’t something I’m comfortable with yet for myself, but seeing this awesome record of you embodied in your year makes me think I should try again.

    I hope 2016 has treated you well so far.

Leave a Reply

