“Someone’s surely messy!” Book review: Serious Sas and Messy Magda

photo

My first book review of the year is of children’s book, Serious Sas and Messy Magda by Marianne De Pierres and Rachel Annie Bridgen.

The story gets off to a great start with the line, “Sas and her mum were as different as could be.”

I’m super excited to be reviewing this book with my brilliant little girl, Jasmine.

Helen: Jasmine, are you and I as different as could be?

Jasmine: Well sometimes we’re matching, and sometimes we’re different.

And I think that’s what is so good about Serious Sas and Messy Magda. It resonates with the (Jasmine is laughing at me here, and going, “Blah-blah-blah-blah-blah”). As I was seriously saying… It resonates with the differences which are often part of the relationship between little girls and their mums.

Helen: What would you rate the book out of ten?

Jasmine: Ten out of ten.

Helen: Do you think it really captures the little girl’s point of view? I think it does.

(Some explanation of what that meant went here.)

Jasmine: Yeah, I think it does, too. I really liked the mum, Magda because she was a little bit silly, like my mum.

Helen: I am so not silly! What about you? Are you like Sas?

Jasmine (whispering from behind her hand, with wide eyes): I’m like Magda too, because my room’s a little messy. The illustrations were kind of funny because the mum is a fancy pants most of the time.

Helen: My take on the illustrations is that they are colourful and have those entertaining little details that add an extra giggle to a children’s book. I totally identified with Magda’s day at school, too.

I asked Jasmine if she would read Serious Sas and Messy Magda to her little brother, and recommend it to her friends. She said, “Sure, but can you do it?”

Pfff. Daughters.

 

 

Serious Sas and Messy Magda is published by Books to Treasure.

4 Comments on ““Someone’s surely messy!” Book review: Serious Sas and Messy Magda”

  1. Hah. The first review that’s made me laugh this year.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,894 other followers